Skip to content

February 2, 2013

B250 Journal Week 3

This week I learned how to make keyword searches area specific through Keywordspy.com, and I found out how much it would cost me to have someone click on my ad because of Adwords.

I learned about website builders.  They are programs that help you build your own website even if you do not have any technical knowledge.  They are quick to learn.  Some have drag and drop features and theme templates to choose from.  Examples are Weebly.com and Webstart.com.  I was planning to make my website for this class with a website builder, but I have changed my mind.  I decided to go with a Content Mangement System (CMS) instead.  Brother Poole, my teacher, said one like WordPress is not that hard to learn.  There are a lot of YouTube videos to help me.  WordPress is very flexible and I think most hosting sites support it.  I need to remember to use WordPress.org and not WordPress.com to have the features I need.

I also learned about hosting sites.  They are where you put your website to have it live online.  Some of the web builders claimed to offer free hosting and a free website.  I have wondered what their revenue model is.  Because I have chosen WordPress, I will need to choose my own host.  Some I have to choose from are Bluehost, Doteasy, Dreamhost, and Inmotion.  Bluehost has been in the business for a long time.  Someone in the discussion board this week mentioned Just Host.  I don’t know anything about them, so I will need to check them out.

My first project was due this week.  I used a multiple page spreadsheet that helped calculate the best business idea to use.  Unfortunately all of the five choices seemed to lose money.  I have changed my mind.  I have decided to help my son’s business get a website.  I think this will be the most productive.  He was one of the choices on my spreadsheet and as I think about it probably the best one for success. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

